You are here

  1. Home
  2. OU celebrates Research Excellence Awards 2022

OU celebrates Research Excellence Awards 2022

Group of ladies and men sitting and standing

More than 250 Open University (OU) staff, students, funders and partners came together in London last night (22 September 2022) to celebrate OU research.

The OU Research Excellence Awards recognised the wide range of ways research undertaken at the OU makes a positive difference to the economy, the environment, and society.

During a glittering evening at the De Vere Grand Connaught Rooms in Covent Garden, The OU presented awards spanning 12 categories:

Outstanding Research Project


  • The AstrobiologyOU Research Team


  • Professor Satheesh Krishnamurthy

Environmental Sustainability Award


  • The Citizen Science and Artificial Intelligence Research Group


  • The Social and Sustainable Enterprise Research Cluster

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Award


  • The Knowledge Media Institute


  • Dr Pallavi Anand

Best External Collaboration and Knowledge Exchange


  • Professor Jean Hartley and the Centre for Policing Research and Learning


  • Dr Petr Knoth

Outstanding Impact on Research on Society and Prosperity


  • The Empowering Design Practices Research Team


  • Professor Annika Mombauer
    For the impact of research into the diplomatic and military origins of the First World War.
  • Professor Sarah Earle and Dr Maddie Blackburn
    For their research on sex, intimacy and relationships involving young people with life-limiting and life-threatening conditions.

Outstanding Impact on Research on Teaching, Curriculum and Students


  • The Gas Cell Project team


  • Dr Carol Azumah Dennis

COVID-19 Award


  • Dr Siobhan Campbell and Dr Sally Blackburn-Daniels


  • Dr Amber Fensham-Smith
    For leading The Open University’s support for home learning during lockdown.
  • Professor Harith Alani and team
    For research into COVID-19 related behavioural dynamics, misinformation spread and supply chain disruption.

Early Career Researcher


  • Dr Erica Borgstrom


  • Dr Lee Curley
  • Dr Kaustubh Adhikari

Best Research Support Team


  • Dr Joanna Bhatti and Michelle Stevens


  • The AstrobiologyOU Support Hub

PGR Student Award


  • Joe McNeil


  • Lesley Boyd
  • Pallavi Joshi
  • Dr Ayomide Oluseye
  • Scott Michael Steele
  • Lois Damptey
  • Dr Hannah Sargeant

Outstanding Supervisor Award

Joint winners:

  • Dr Philippa Waterhouse and Dr Hugh Dickinson


  • Professor Enrico Motta

Best Technician/Technical Team of the year


  • Dr Simona Nicoara


  • Dr Michael Batham and team

The 2022 event was the third edition of the awards. Find out about previous years’ winners.

Quarterly Review of Research

Read our Quarterly Review of Research to learn about our latest quality academic output.

View the latest review

Contact our news team

For all out of hours enquiries, please telephone +44 (0)7901 515891

Contact details

News & articles

View of Mars, with its red surface and black background

Researchers find frost on the Solar System’s tallest volcanoes on Mars

Open University researchers are co-leads for instruments which have detected water-based frost at the top of the Olympus Mons volcanoes on Mars – the largest volcanoes in the Solar System.

13th June 2024
See all